Killing Plants in Boquete

For the last several days I have been trying to get rid of the bougainvillea that was wrapped around and had overtaken the front porch. It made sitting on the porch like sitting in a box as the plants were so thick, you couldn’t see anything. I waited until my landlady left for the States before demolishing her garden. She did tell me, numerous times, that the house was mine to do as I wish. As long as it looks great when she returns, she will be cool with it.

P1000413 garden after

It took several hours and several trips to the compost pile, but the bougainvillea is gone. Even the roots, which almost cost me my husband’s life when he lost his footing as the roots broke. He’s fine with just a sprained wrist.

It will look better once I get some different plants. My friend, Lynne, has offered cuttings from anything in her garden – which is beautiful and diverse. It seems like all you have to do is stick a branch in the dirt, and it thrives.

I also put up some bird feeders so the new plants need to attract birds. Some hummingbirds have already visited and a yellow bird that I am not familiar with (I need a bird book).

Coffee on the front porch will be so much nicer with a view and a breeze.

living in Panama

5 thoughts on “Killing Plants in Boquete

  1. Are you using the free version or the paid version of WordPress for your blog? Just curious, because we are going to start a blog also.
    Thanks,
    Mikkel

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of work. Those things are beautiful but have wicked thorns. I agree, the place looks a lot better now! I spent all afternoon killing plants too. Our place has nice grass but it’s been neglected and overtaken with weeds. My neighbors don’t know about compost piles and think mine is quite odd though.

  3. What a beautiful home! Que una linda casa! One thing noone wants to share with me is the toilet plumbing; is there a problem flushing the tp down or does it have to be put into the trash basket?

    • That depends on the individual plumbing. I grew up with a septic tank in Florida and remember some of the maintenance. Since there’s only two of us living here and we have our own tank, we flush. Almost every place else, especially with some of the old plumbing in town, you use the waste basket. I actually asked the same question a few weeks ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

