Spanish 101

holaToday I started taking ‘real’ lessons in Spanish. Evelyn and Christobal teach Spanish to small groups in her home. I went on Monday to the beginner’s lesson but I needed more so I got an immediate promotion. David stayed in the beginner class. Each class is only 1 1/2 hours so my old brain isn’t too taxed.

I like this class because it focuses on things we need to use. Like talking to the maid. Or leaving/taking/giving items. I know enough Spanish to shop, eat in a restaurant, get basic locations, and the usual daily things. But unless you are in a very advanced language class, you aren’t going to be able to tell the ‘limpiador’ to use the ‘trapeador’ on ‘las pisas’. So we learned words for ceiling, roof, send me and practical words that are commonly used. My assignment is to use as much of what I learned in the community.

Friday is conversation day and I hope that many of my classmates can attend. I know enough Spanish to know that it’s a lot easier to learn than English. I can do this.

living in Panama

Blog Expat: living abroad

3 thoughts on “Spanish 101

    • And just like in the States, it pleases the people who live here when you attempt to integrate yourself into the community. You cannot do that if you cannot speak to them. And it is great brain exercise!

  1. Pingback: When in Rome, do as… the Panamanians? – mebeinpanama

Leave a Reply

