Doing the Lawn

I was reminded today by my friend Kris, that sometimes we get so involved in our lives in Panama that we forget to write about what’s going on.  I know I read every blogger word I could find before we moved.  Even if it seemed mundane to the writer, I was salivating – waiting for our big move.  Now that it’s here, even though we still love Panama, the writing is more and more sporadic.

So, the activity for today –  I spent most of the day on the lawn.  Luckily we have a gardener who does the unfun stuff like cutting, clipping and disposing of grass and weeds.  David used to do most of that when we lived in Florida.  Now I can do the lawn things that I enjoy.  Planting, trimming, fertilizing and such.  One of the big draws about Boquete is its fertile soil.  Put it in the ground and it will probably grow.  tree fence

Panama has tree limb fences.  Along the highways you can see that people have taken tree limbs and put them in holes and then run barbed wire from tree to tree.  Before long, the branches begin growing into new trees, creating a beautiful fence.

We are nearing the end of dry season so it’s time to get things ready for rain.  lipstick palmTwo weeks ago I planted some bulbs I got at the Chiriquí Flea Market.  They are already about 8 inches tall.  I also got another Lipstick Palm for the front lawn and a couple of vines for the back fence.  The native flowers are beginning to blossom so they need to be watered.

Scottish-ThistleToday I also planted some seeds.  Vegetables and herbs for the green house and flowers in the garden.  I got some Scottish thistle seeds and I hope they grow.

The native plants are beginning to bloom.

It’s also time to weed and feed the lawn.  We get some very unusual weeds.  Many have roots that run down to China and have some pretty nasty thorns.  Apparently they do very well during the dry season but their life expectancy is coming to an end.

It’s time to fertilize the trees I planted in the fall – right before dry and windy season.  They are alive and still look healthy but they need to see a major growth spurt from now until November.

I also planted some kind of pod seed that is suppose to keep leaf cutter ants away from my roses.  I replanted some lilies in the front near the cool trees that went in a few months ago.

In another month or so we will be making the trip to Conception and Volcan for fruit trees and other vegetation.  Our yard is pretty large and needs more plants.  We found a small sapling in the lot next door and replanted it in our yard.  We planted several hibiscus a few months ago and they are big and blooming like crazy.  The fruit trees are in blossom.  Another pineapple top is almost ready to be put in the ground.   I routinely throw my papaya seeds in the back lot, hoping that a few will take root when the rains come.  I still have passion fruit seeds that I need to plant.

Everything grows in Boquete.  And I just heard thunder!!  Rainy season is almost here!

 

badge-featured-blog-dblue-125

casademontana

living in Panama
Blog Expat: living abroad

expatblog

PFR-Logo-with-stamp-5

expat exchange

14 thoughts on “Doing the Lawn

  1. I loved your opening live because that is where I am at…or at least dreaming of. The flowers are beautiful. Are you referring to Kris Cunningham? I read her blog too and you both have something unique to offer.

  2. I’m curious about the pod seed that prevents leaf cutter ants. I could use that here.
    Have you had rain? I heard the thunder too but no rain here. We had a bit yesterday though and a downpour the day before. I’ll be happy when everything is green again.
    There is a tree near here that makes huge lemons, big as grapefruit! They make great lemonade and you can even eat the peels. I have year old seedlings I don’t need so you’re welcome to some for your yard.

    • I got 2 pods from a friend who swears they work. I have a pod of about 8 seeds left over. Next time we go south I will bring them. We only got thunder and seeing the dark clouds but no rain yet Winds have died down at least. Would love a seedling!!!

  3. I certainly can understand your post. You are busy living and enjoying LIFE so therefore, less thought to blogging. More important things, haha. Thank you, so much for taking the time to share what is happening in your part of the world. I love Kris’s blog, too! Happy planting!

  4. Panama City has been having rain and then the clouds float down here without doing anything. It’s still early for our area but we’re also ready for the rains to return!

  5. Where in Volcan do you go for fruit trees? I’m going to be living there by this time next year and can use all the help I can get!

    • Citrus can be bought here in Boquete and Dolega. I understand mangoes and avocados are in Bugaba or Conception. I have cashew and macadamia nut trees that I got from friends.

  6. Hi, thank you for your lovely blog. I am wondering if the Scottish thistle is indigenous to the area? Also how do you or others handle missing family, aka grandchildren? How often do people come back to visit? I would think they would love to visit you. Thank you very much.

    • I havent seen Scottish thistle here yet. Skype makes distances much closer. I also have Facetime on my phone as well as other communication apps. We visit the states 2-3 times a year but family visits here too. We are lucky that Florida is so close.

Leave a Reply

